The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) & ScriptWorks Present

The 3rd Annual Austin One-Minute Play Festival

Mon. Aug 22nd, Tues. Aug 23rd, and Weds. Aug 24th at 8PM

At Austin Playhouse

Highland Mall, South Entrance

6001 Airport Dr. Austin, TX 78752

Complete directions at

Tickets are $20

One-minute plays by 40 active Austin playwrights were commissioned for this special annual event, to examine community topics and conversations, made with #1MPF’s playmaking process.

Featuring Brand New One-Minute Plays by

Rita Anderson, Lowell Bartholomee, Katie Bender, Paul Bonin-Rodriguez, James E. Burnside, Katherine Catmull, Elizabeth Cobbe, Jenny Connell Davis, Elizabeth Doss, Amparo Garcia-Crow, Joanna Garner, Raul Garza, Aimée R. Gonzalez, Morgan Kauphusman, Kristin Harrison, Christopher J. Krejci, Lindsey Lane, Max Langert, Sarah Loucks, Allison Orr Block, Jason Rainey, Sheila Lynch Rinear, Candyce Rusk, Sarah Saltwick, Hank Schwemmer, Eva Suter, C. Denby Swanson, Adam Sweeney, Megan Tabaque, Lisa B. Thompson, Cindy Vining, Cyndi Williams, Anne Maria Wynter, Kalli Angel, Megan Thornton, & more!

Directed by Elizabeth V. Newman, Ellie McBride, Juliana Wright, Lara Toner, Linda Nenno, Patti Neff-Tiven, Stephanie Carll, Zac Thomas & Will Hollis Snider

Curated By #1MPF Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea

The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF)

America’s largest and longest running short-form theatre company in the country, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea. #1MPF is a barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue and consensus building sessions and a performance of many moments. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres sharing playwright or community-specific missions across the country. #1MPF creates locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local cultures of playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways to give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in close to 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theater, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks,  ACT, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & over 1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit: