ScriptWorks is a playwright development and service organization that was founded to:

  • Create a home for dramatic writers that stimulates imagination
  • Develop new dramatic works to their fullest potential and feed them into the local and national markets
  • Produce and encourage the production of new work that lends dignity to the playwright’s vision
  • Network and enhance the visibility of the diverse community of playwrights in the Central Texas area

ScriptWorks History

ScriptWorks began as Austin Script Works with twelve Core playwrights and one director in 1997. Our mission at that time was to be a theatrical producing organization with ancillary educational programs. David Mark Cohen, head of playwriting at the University of Texas-Austin, a driving force behind the organization, became the Creative Director, Emily Cicchini became the Executive Director, and Christina J. Moore became the Producing Director. We co-produced the Texas Young Playwrights Festival and four plays by members were chosen for production. Ten days after our first member production closed (AMERICAN ARCANA by Cyndi Williams), David Cohen was killed in a car wreck. That event and the enormous resources it had taken to serve one writer, inspired us to take a step back and re-evaluate our mission. At that time, John Walch and Clay Nichols joined the leadership team, and the mission broadened to include programming for every stage of the writing process with limited producing activities.

In 2010, we changed our name to ScriptWorks to acknowledge the breadth of our membership which spans the state of Texas and the U.S.

ScriptWorks Philosophy

ScriptWorks exists to support dramatic writers by providing opportunities at all stages in the writing process — from inception through production. SW supports the whole writer, not just an isolated project, and dedicates itself to career advancement as well as artistic growth. Committed to high artistic standards, ScriptWorks seeks to protect the writer’s integrity by encouraging playwright initiative and harnessing collective potential.

Access, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

ScriptWorks is dedicated to supporting all our members regardless of age, race, ethnicity, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, financial status, or experience level.  We value and respect all voices and strive for equity and transparency in our programming, operations, and all areas of the organization. No one is ever turned away from ScriptWorks membership or programming because of need.

ScriptWorks Organization Structure

ScriptWorks is structured as a 501 (c) (3) non-profit corporation with a community Board of Directors. An Operations Committee maintains the day-to-day operations of the organization in conjunction with volunteers from the Membership.

National Advisors

Liz Engelman, Sherry Kramer,  Megan Monaghan,  John Walch

Board of Directors

Zell Miller, III (Chair), Raul Garza (Treasurer), Heather Bishop,  Aaron M. Clay,  Julie Ann Holden, Max Langert, Helen Sneed, Anne Wynter

Operations Committee

Christina J. Moore – Executive Artistic Director
Max Langert – Member Representative
Julie Holden – Newsletter Scribe
Tim Thomas – Webmaster
C. Denby Swanson – Resident Business Consultant

CORE Alums

Abi Basch, P. Seth Bauer, Rebecca Beegle, Ron Berry, C.F. Blackchild, Paul Bonin-Rodriguez, Kimberly Burke, Monika Bustamante, Elena Carrillo, Vicki Caroline Cheatwood, Emily Cicchini, Lisa D’Amour, Dan Dietz, Patricia Fiske, Robert Ford, Amparo Garcia-Crow, David Gunderson, Jennifer Haley, Jessica Hedrick, Carson Kreitzer, Kendall Lynch, Kirk Lynn, P. Paullette MacDougall, Zell Miller III, Clay Nichols, Molly Rice, Greg Romero, Ellsworth Schave, Rebecca Schwarz, Hank Schwemmer, Kirk Smith, C. Denby Swanson, John Walch, Skipper Chong Warson, Cyndi Williams