The AUSTIN ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL (#1MPF) returns for its fourth year, in partnership with ScriptWorks. The marathon evening of one-minute plays by 40 of Austin’s established and emerging playwrights and directors plays four performances only as a Series A/B schedule. Series A: Sunday, August 27th & Monday, August 28th at 8pm and Series B: Tuesday, August 29th & Wednesday, August 30th at 8pm.  All performances are at Hyde Park Theatre (511 W 43rd St, Austin, TX, 78751).

Tickets, priced at $20, are available here:

(Enjoy a $5 discount if you buy tickets for both series in the same transaction)

The 4th ANNUAL AUSTIN ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL will feature brand new one-minute plays by:


Kimberly Belflower, Allison Orr Block, James Burnside, Katherine Catmull, Martha Lynn Coon, Jenny Connell Davis, Trey Deason, Amparo Garcia-Crow, Charlie Gill, Aimée Gonzalez, Ava Love Hanna, Christine Hoang, Julie Holden, Kirk Lynn, Tristan Mercado, Nadine Mozon, Candyce Rusk, Sarah Saltwick, Eva Suter, and Anne Maria Wynter.

Directed by Jenny Connell Davis, Marian Kansas, Ellie McBride, Elizabeth V. Newman, and Brandon Sterrett.


Rita Anderson, John Boulanger, Raul Garza, Tyler Kosmak, Lindsey Lane, Max Langert, Daria Miyeko Marinelli, Paz Pardo, Jason Rainey, Nettie Reynolds, Sheila Lynch Rinear, Jelisa Jay Robinson, Greg Romero, Roxanne Schroeder-Arce, Hank Schwemmer, Lisa B. Thompson, Megan Thornton, Cindy Vining, and Jennine DOC Wright. 

Directed by Delanté Keys, Christina J. Moore, Patti Neff-Tiven, Jess Shoemaker, and Brianna Smith.

(bolding indicates SW members)

THE ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL (#1MPF) is America’s largest and longest running grass roots theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea . #1MPF is a social barometer project which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of 50-100 short moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres and/or social organizations sharing playwright, educational, or community-specific missions across the country. #1MPF represents playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from ticket sales. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, theatre programs in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, playwrights salaried commissions, community access projects, arts workshops and other social and artistic initiatives.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis and more, with partnering institutions including Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory Gardens Theater, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The aPlaywrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks,  ACT Seattle, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Samuel D. Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés and over to 1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit: