ASW is proud to announce that current Artistic Director Colin Denby Swanson and former Artistic Director Dan Dietz are two of the eleven national recipients of the 2007 NEA/TCG Theatre Residency Program for Playwrights. The program, developed and administered by Theatre Communications Group (TCG) in collaboration with the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), and supported in part by the Ford Foundation, was created to afford playwrights the opportunity to create new work while in residence at a host theatre and to become part of the theatre’s artistic life and community activities.

Dietz will be in residence at Salvage Vanguard Theater. He will develop a play called The Difference Engine, exploring the relationship between the brilliant 19th century engineer Charles Babbage and Ada Lovelace, daughter of Lord Byron, mathematical visionary, and drug addict. Dan will also develop a series of playwriting workshops that focus specifically on using drama to excite students about math, science and history.

Swanson will develop Blue Monday, based on the life of the late Clifford Antone, a fascinating figure in the Austin music scene, in residence at Zachary Scott Theatre Center where she will also lead an extended writing workshop with student writers from ZACH’s Performing Arts School, writers and dramaturges from Austin Script Works and musicians from the Austin Music Foundation.

Each playwright receives $25,000 and each theatre $4,500 to enhance support for the residencies. Austin, Chicago and San Francisco are the only cities to receive two residencies; further evidence of our growing reputation as a hotbed for creative new work. Congratulations Colin and Dan!