CarryOn-web2ScriptWork’s 18th Annual Ten Minute Play Showcase
Hyde Park Theatre, 511 W. 43rd St.
April 28-30 and May 5-7, 2016 at 8 PM
Tickets:  $16 general admission, $14 students/seniors/ScriptWorks
April 28 is a Pay-What-You-Wish preview


A grieving widow, a pilot under siege, a captive woman, and a man who has given up on love are just a few of the people who figure out how to carry on in ScriptWorks’ 18th annual Out of Ink ten-minute play showcase. The only objects available to the characters are what will fit in a carry-on suitcase, one of three contributed rules or ingredients used to write the plays. ScriptWorks members mold these elements into their ten-minute masterpieces over 48 hours during the Weekend Fling.

This year’s ingredients were contributed by Obie-award winning playwright, Caridad Svich; Austin scenic designer and co-director of paper chairs, Lisa Laratta; and Head of Playwriting/Directing at UT and Rude Mechs Co-Producing Artistic Director, Kirk Lynn.

The fodder for this year’s Fling was:

1) All props and scenery must be able to fit into, and include, a carry-on suitcase
2) A character in the play must write a note for another character which the audience never gets to hear.
3) The sound of the land

At the end of the Weekend Fling, the plays were read in a ScriptWorks Salon at the Austin Playwrights Studio.  A selection committee picked eight plays for production in Out of Ink, from the three-dozen that were submitted.  The committee included free-lance director and ScriptWorks board chair, Debbie Lynn Carriger; and non-applying members Larry Herold and Rhonda Kulhanek.

The Carry On scripts were written by:

Katherine Catmull, Carolyn Kennedy,  Briandaniel Oglesby, Sheila Lynch Rinear, Adam Sweeney, Megan Thornton, Lisa B. Thompson, and Anne Maria Wynter.  The plays will be performed by an ensemble of actors including Roxy Becker, Zac Carr, Kristin Chiles, David DuBose, Jennifer John, Michael Joplin, Matrex Kilgore, Taji Senior, and Johanna Whitmore. They’ll be directed by Caleb Britton, Ellie McBride, Christina J. Moore, Linda Nenno, and Rudy Ramirez. Designers for the project are Lowell Bartholomee, Pam Friday, Shelby Gebhart, and Brooks Naylor.