979 Springdale Rd
Austin, TX 78702

All Tickets $20

The One-Minute Play Festival (Dominic D’Andrea, Producing Artistic Director & Caitlin Wees, Associate Producer) and ScriptWorks (Christina J. Moore, Executive Artistic Director) continue their dynamic partnership for The 2nd Annual Austin One-Minute Play Festival with part of the proceeds to benefit ScriptWorks programming.

Known as a social barometer project, 1MPF invited writers living and working in Austin to submit moments via their specific playmaking process. The writers were given a prompt that asked them to consider the world around them, their community, and all the ways in which they view and engage with the world, and to write and submit moments that could only happen at this time and in this place. Once the moments were submitted, the 1MPF team identified the themes, ideas, styles, trends, and connections that bubbled up to the surface in the zeitgeist, highlighted those things, and reflected them back in “clumps” of several plays. “We are survey artists”, said D’Andrea. “This is our version of performing a community mind-map, or kind of like sticking a core sample into the earth and examining a cross-section of themes and ideas that exist in the dirt.”

Part community-convening, part social action, and part play festival, 1MPF aims to investigate the questions who are we? What is our relationship to each other? To our community? To our work? To our activism? Through a series of nearly 70 pulses of storytelling, 70 heartbeats that say something about who we are, where we are, and where we might be going as a community.

One-minute plays by established and emerging Austin playwrights, most members of ScriptWorks, were commissioned for this special event, prompted by #1MPF’s unique playmaking process.

The 2nd Annual Austin One-Minute Play Festival will feature work by ScriptWorks members Rita Anderson, Kalli Angel, Allan Baker, Allison Orr Block, James Burnside, Katherine Catmull,  Adrienne Dawes, Trey Deason, Elizabeth Doss, Joanna Garner, Raul Garza, Aimée Gonzalez, Larry Herold, Carolyn Kennedy, Christopher Krejci, Rhonda Kulhanek, Max Langert, Gia Marotta, Tegan McLeod, Briandaniel Oglesby, Jason Rainey, Rupert Reyes, Sheila Rinear, Candyce Rusk, Sarah Saltwick, Hank Schwemmer, Diana Lynn Small, Eva Suter, C. Denby Swanson, Megan Tabaque, Lisa B. Thompson, Megan Thornton, Cindy Vining,  and Anne Maria Wynter as well as Elizabeth Cobbe, Martha Lynn Coon and Travis Tate.

Directed by Caleb Britton, Derek Kolluri, Jenny Lavery, Christina J. Moore, Rudy Ramirez, Jerry Ruiz, Will Hollis Snider & Lily Wolff

The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is America’s largest and longest running short form theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea, is a barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue and consensus building sessions and a performance of many moments. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres sharing playwright or community-specific missions across the country. #1MPF creates locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local cultures of playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in close to 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog, Salvage Vanguard, ScriptWorks,  ACT, Perseverance Theatre, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & close to 600 famous, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit: